Goodbye, My Sweet

Am I Defeating the Purpose?

Posted on: February 21, 2011

To make up for the diet soda I’ve been drinking tea with stevia. I found a flavored sparkling water that I like but I add a packet of Truvia. Am I defeating the purpose? Should I just go back to drinking diet soda to make me happy? I’m still craving something sweet. I’m still trying to make up for something. Is it a hole in my soul or a hole in my way of eating?

I’m following a gut feeling here. Every instinct in my body tells me that I’m doing the right thing. But is it instinct or is is perfectionism? All my life I tried to be a “good girl”, do everything just right. If I made the slightest mistake I considered my efforts wasted. Mistake =  failure.

If I’m a “good girl” and don’t eat any of the “bad stuff” will I be rewarded? Will I finally deserve to lose weight, to be thin?

2 Responses to "Am I Defeating the Purpose?"

No, I think you are doing just fine. You are making healthier choices to “support” your habit. I find that eventually the desire for even the substitutes diminish. I don’t believe diet coke is a good substitute for the real thing…even though things go better with it ;-P But I think that if you have a craving for something, feed that craving with your healthiest, best choice. There is no hole if you fill it with something.

I used to put a teaspoon of sugar in my coffee. When I became a low carber, I began using splenda. Now I do not add any sweetening to my coffee at all. But I now use heavy cream. Ten years ago you could not have convinced me that I would be so crazy as to use heavy cream in my coffee. Or even real butter on my veggies…no way! But imagine this, if I were still doing high carb, I would not be enjoying butter, cream, coconut or all the other goodies. I’m a very good girl 😉

Thanks for the encouragement, Mary. I have a tendency to be an “all or nothing” kind of thinker and doer. I expect perfection from myself. I’m getting used to the tasted of Truvia. And you’re right, eating low carb is much tastier and mmore filling than the high carb low carb way.

Leave a Reply

